Go to content
Hall of Fame Recipients
Information & More > History
Minnesota Trappers Association
Hall of Fame
The History of the Fur Trade in Minnesota
We all should acknowledge the long heritage and prominent role the fur trade has played in the history of the Great State of Minnesota. From the initial exploration by The French fur trader Rene Cavelier (Sieur de La Salle), who traveled down the Great Lakes to the Gulf of Mexico and helped to establish a chain of fur trading posts all along the Mississippi from New Orleans to the Great Lakes to the first expedition of Lewis and Clark from August 1805-April 1806 commissioned by President Thomas Jefferson to explore the lands of the Louisiana Purchase of 1803 to its essential modern-day role in wildlife management and economics, trappers and trapping have long been a part of the State's foundational fabric that continues to have an impact on our collective futures as well.

The MTA Trapper Hall of Fame was established in 1996 to recognize members for their exemplary leadership in promoting and advocating for the sport of fur trapping at all levels, local, state, and national. These individuals stand in the presence of those pioneers and trappers today and owe a debt of gratitude to all they have accomplished on our behalf.

Being inducted into the MTA Trapper Hall of Fame is the highest honor that can be bestowed on a member of the MTA and, as such, is not taken lightly. Many trappers trap huge numbers each year, but that is not the main focus of this esteemed award. Hall of Fame members are not only accomplished trappers but also have contributed to the trapping world in various other ways.  In these pages, you will read about some of Minnesota’s most noteworthy trappers and their contributions to the trapping community.
Class of 1996 Honorees:
Robert "Bob" Himes
Sidney L. Berg
John Elavsky
Gary Meis
1997 Bob Gessner
1998 Alvin Ladd
1999 Jim Thompson
2000 N/A
2006 Richard Raeker
2008 N/A
2009 Tom Marks
2009 Dennis Strand
2009 Butch Dykhoff
2009 Russ "Rusty" Cumberland SR
2010 Gene Anderson
2011 Gary Strand
2013 Curt Carter
2014 Russ "Rusty" Cumberland JR
2014 Tim Bauer
2015 N/A
2016 Terry McElmury
2016 Tim Sawatzky
2017 N/A

©️ Copyright 2022. MN Trappers Assn. All rights reserved.
©️ Copyright 2022. MN Trappers Assn. All rights reserved.
Back to content